Aside

Sandy McRaisin – Alumni Mascot

Hi there!Image

I’ve been keeping you up to date with all of the news from St Andrews and thought it about time I introduced myself properly. The name’s Sandy McRaisin, St Andrews alumnus and ………. all round supporter of the University (sorry for the long paws, I’ve always had them!). I love going on adventures, meeting my fellow St Andrews alumni, and I cannot express my love for ice cream enough. You’ll usually see me wearing my favourite red St Andrews jumper, but I did bear all for the May Dip!

Image

St Andrews will soon be filled with students ready to don their graduation gowns and make their way down the cobbled streets to Younger Hall and receive their degrees. I’m looking forward to welcoming our graduating students back to St Andrews for a truly special week. My graduation week was full of excitement, friends, celebrations and free meals. Mother bear always made sure I got my favourite dish – tagliateddy – but I had to be careful not to eat too much or else I’d feel stuffed!

I remember my days in St Andrews well; meeting my academic parents, Yogi and Paddington, at a picnic, trying to get my bearings around hall (John Bearnet) and getting soaked in Sallies quad after my final exam. It’s these special memories that made me loyal to the University even after graduation and helped me decide I wanted to work for you all here as your mascot. Becoming an alumnus does not mark the end of the St Andrews experience, there’s so many ways that the university can help us out whether it be careers advice, brilliant discounts or helping us keep in touch with each other. The Class of 2014 will be warmly welcomed into the huge network of alumni worldwide.  I can’t wait to see what everyone gets up to in the next few years and I hope to be friends with you all!

Sandy West Sands

 

 

Bear Hugs,

Sandy

PS: I’ve taken over the alumni network twitter feed this week, so come chat to me there!

(Facebook  Twitter  Vine  Alumni Website)

Leave a Reply

